Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Apr 08 2010 | 16:16 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

DJ Spinna returns to his roots on “Underground Forever”, unearthing a classic mix of independently released singles and sleeper favorites from the mid 90s.

Before the era of online sharing and instant downloads, mixtapes were the lifeblood of the hip-hop underground in New York. Names like DJ Premier, DJ Clue, DJ Doo Wop, Kid Capri, Enuff, Cipha Sounds, and Tony Touch had their finger on the pulse of the city’s emerging backpack movement, which took the culture back to basics: self-released records, word-of-mouth buzz and musical innovation. The mixtapes produced by such legendary DJs – relentlessly bought, traded and redubbed by fans – helped introduce the world to talents like Company Flow, Mos Def, Eminem, Jean Grae, 7L & Esoteric and Royce Da 5’9″.

As a member of the Jigmastas, DJ Spinna was at the forefront of this storied era in hip-hop. Though now he’s perhaps better known as a rare-groove, funk and house DJ, his passion for hip-hop remains as strong as ever on “Underground Forever”, a 100% licensed mix of unearthed gems from New York’s mid-90s underground scene. Pulling material from the archives of Tape Kingz, Uncle Howie, Direct Records, Hydra, Dolo and other seminal labels of the time, Spinna has hand-crafted a mix for the ages, taking 12″ releases from the likes of Pharoahe Monch, Shabaam Sahdeeq, Eminem, Mos Def, O.C., plus many more, and assembling them into a disc that defies the skip button. It’s a trip through the crates of a fondly remembered era, led by a tour guide with some serious credentials.


01. DJ Spinna – Underground Forever (Intro)
02. Juggaknots – Clear Blue Skies
03. Godfather Don – Properties Of The Steel
04. J-Live – Braggin’ Writes
05. Dutchmin – Get Your Swerve On
06. L The Head Toucha – Too Complex
07. AK Skills – Nights Of Fear
08. The East Flatbush Project – Tried By 12
09. Non Phixon – No Tomorrow
10. Old World Disorder – 3hree6ix5ive feat. Eminem
11. Ugly Duckling – Fresh Mode
12. The Basement Khemist – Vibrate
13. Natural Resource – Negro League Baseball
14. Mike Zoot – High Drama feat. Mos Def
15. Shabaam Sahdeeq – It Could Happen Anytime feat. Shadowz In The Dark
16. Street Smartz – Mental Thangz feat. Pharoah Monch & OC
17. Shadez Of Brooklyn – Survival Warz (When It Rains It Pours)
18. Mr Voodoo – Lyrical Tactics
19. Paula Perry – Paula’s Jam
20. Lace Da Booms=2 0 – Cut That Weak Shit feat. Quasi Modo & Royal Flush
21. Saukrates – Play This (Remix) feat. Common
22. IG Off & Hazadous – This Ain’t Livin’
23. Jigmastas – Beyond Real
24. Money Boss Players – Players Pinnacle
25. Greg Nice – Set It Off

The album DJ SpinnaUnderground Forever” (Octave) is going to be released April 30, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung