Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Suzan Köcher
Dec 07, 2017
Dec 05, 2017
Burnt Friedman
Dec 05, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Mar 25 2010 | 14:19 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

After the highly acclaimed “Kiss Of Kali” Mop Mop are back with “Ritual Of The Savage”, the third studio album, written, arranged and produced by Andrea Benini.

“Ritual Of The Savage” contains twelve tracks of pure hypnotic jazz, spiritual flavours, exotic funk and soul music, influenced by Latin and African beats.

The album collaborations include the amazing talent of UK vocalist Miss Bay Sol (backing vocals for the likes of Amy Winehouse, Joss Stone, Paloma Faith, Nate James), veteran jazz crooner Alan Farrington, Down Beat critics poll winner Gianluca Petrella on trombone, the Italian vibraphone star Pasquale Mirra, the voodoo sound of Guglielmo Pagnozzi on clarinette and alto sax, percussionist Danilo Mineo and Andrea Benini’s co-writer and arranger Alex Trebo on piano and keyboards.

“Ritual Of The Savage” is an album with the philosophy of a soundtrack where the main character is a modern savage who is searching for a perfect land where music is the only law. He starts his journey after “The Return Of The King”, the album’s opening track, going to an unknown “Destination” where jazz meets funk.

Will the savage be able to reach his goal? Nobody knows. But as the last album’s track “Aria” suggests he will land in a space where everything is harmonious.

The result is surely mindblowing with a flowing tracklist which sequels as if to tell a story.

This album is made for the selective and open minded music heads and DJ’s; vintage elements are mixed through a modern way of production and beats are generated by acoustic drums and analog drum machines.

“Ritual Of The Savage” tries to give a personal representation of black music through the Italian flavour that Mop Mop have created with their music, while bringing the listeners to unexpected music solutions.

As Andrea Benini suggests “Step back, burn all your money, give up to your power silks and chase real pleasure”.


01. The Return Of The King
02. Destination
03. Ash
04. Mr. Know It All
05. So High
06. Outerspace
07. Blue Soul
08. African Freedom
09. Ritual Of The Savage
10. Naja Haje
11. Hot Pot
12. Aria

The album Mop MopRitual Of The Savage” (INFRACom!) is going to be released April 9, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung