Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Feb 22 2010 | 17:08 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

The second part to Soundway’s best selling “Nigeria Special” album. The CD is presented with a full colour 24-page booklet. Many of the tracks featured on “Nigeria Special 2” have been forgotten or out of print for nearly 35 years but have since been tracked down and documented by Miles Cleret – the fruits of an arduous labour that has taken over ten years of dedication, research and travel to Nigeria culminating in the final part of Soundway’s extensive survey of Nigeria’s forgotten musical history.

The range of styles vary from highlife to juju and Nigerian blues in the languages of Yoruba, Igbo, Bini and Ijaw. With a peppering of ‘afro’ experimentation the same musical stew pervades volume 2 as it’s predecessor – some artists appear again alongside some new artists as the emphasis continues to focus on the laid back and mid tempo feel found on volume 1.

It includes, the bluesy guitar band style of the Otarus & The Peacocks sits opposite the more uptempo sound of highlife legends Stephen Osita Osadebe (here bringing his Igbo version of the Cuban standard “Peanut Vendor”) and Paulson Kalu.

Progressive outfits such as the Black Zenith, The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination, Tunji Oyelana, The Nkengas Opotopo and Joy Nwoso remind us that these were indeed experimental times with their fusions of jazz, highlife and in the case of Nwoso – opera!


01. Fubura Sekibo – Psychedelic Baby
02. Black Zenith – Shango Oba Onina
03. Twins Seven – Seven And His Golden Cabretas – Totobiroko (Ogbele)
04. The Professional Seagulls Dance Band Of Port Harcourt – Ibi Awo Iyi
05. The Otarus – Omohupa
06. The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination – The Lords Prayer
07. James Etamobe & His All Weatther Band – Agboyabakpa
08. The People Star – Onwu Dinjo
09. Bola Johnson & His Easy Life Top Beats – Jeka Dubu
10. Emperor Dele Ojo & His Africana Internationals – Jekoyewa
11. Commander In Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe & His Nigerian Sound Makers – Onyebu Chi
12. Paulson Kalu Afrikhanah & His Stars 25 – Ochea Special
13. Fidel Sax Bateke & The Voices Of Darkness – Motako
14. Opotopo (Easy Kabaka Brown) – Agboho
15. Tunji Oyelana & The Benders – Iwo Ko

The compilation VariousNigeria Special Volume 2” (Soundway) is going to be released March 12, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung