Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Jan 23, 2018
Jan 22, 2018
Movements Vol.9
Jan 22, 2018
Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Nov 12 2009 | 16:59 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

6817Just a year after releasing the internationally successful “Rituals” album, Italian jazz-head Nicola Conte returns with a double-cd compiling the re-worked, i.e. fully new arranged tracks he has produced in the last years as so called “remixes” for some of his friends, who also happen to be some of the most interesting contemporary jazz artists of the world. From Italy to Brasil, Latin America, the USA, Japan and back to Scandinavia and Germany, “The Modern Sound Of Nicola Comte” takes us on a journey into the most tasteful sounds you can get when it comes to Bossa flavored Jazz, Latin excursions and soulful grooves.

To complement the masterful takes on other musicians’ recordings, 8 of the 26 tracks on this impressive collection are Nicola’s own, never before released music from the last couple of years, stemming from the sessions to his sought after albums “Other Directions” and “Rituals”.

Working with some of the world’s finest musicians, Nicola’s “Modern Sound” features household names such as Amercian legend Mark Murphy or German Jazz superstar Till Brönner. Modern hipsters Helsinki’s The Five Corner Quintet are like Nicola dedicated to preserve the spirit of the best 50ies and 60ies jazz, while percussionists Roberto Roena and Luisito Quintero represent two generations of Latin rhythm fever. The music of Norwegians The Bobby Hughes Combination and of American group Thunderball from Thievery Corporation’s ESL Records comes from a more eclectic and electronic background, but Nicola turns their respective tracks into elegant Jazz takes nevertheless. This he does also with Japanese guests such as Akiko, Maki Mannami and the Sunaga T Experience.

On Nicola’s reworkings of the various tracks and on his own takes you hear him alongside his fabulous sessions musicians like Pietro Ciancaglini, Daniele Scannapieco, Lorenzo Tucci, Pietro Lussu, Gaetano Partipilo, Rosario Giuliani and Sandro Deida, Fabrizio Bosso, Flavio Boltro, and the Finn Teppo Mäkynen and Timo Lassy. On vocals you hear the talents of Lisa Bassenge, Maki Mannami, Kim Sanders, Alice Ricciardi, José James and Philipp Weiss.

Nicola Conte is not only one of today’s most elegant Jazz producers but also a perfectionist in sound. Listening to the 26 tracks of “The Modern Sound Of Nicola Conte – Versions in Jazz Dub” you will learn to love the extraordinary sound and music qualities provided. While many artists will remix music simply by using software tools and letting the computer do the work, Nicola Conte’s method of re-recording live takes with his own musicians make his “Versions In Jazz Dub” a most enjoyable pleasure and a welcome addition to his artistic catalogue.



01. Mark Murphy – Stolen Moments (Midnight Mood rmx)
02. Thunderball – Elevated States
03. Akiko – Mood Indigo
04. Fertile Ground – Yellow Daisies
05. [re:jazz] – Quiet Nights (Out Of The Cool version)
06. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo – When I Wish Upon A Star
07. Bitter:Sweet – Heaven (West Coast Vibes Rmx)
08. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo feat. José James – All Or Nothing At All *
09. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo – New Blues *
10. Maki Mannami – Lotus Sun
11. The Dining Rooms – Flamenco Sketches (New Rumba version)
12. Nicola Conte – Charade *
13. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo – Castles In The Rain **


01. Till Brönner – Sò Danço Samba (N.Conte Rework)
02. Sabrina Malheiros – Terra De Ninguem
03. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo – Solo **
04. Marco Di Marco – Take Off (Campi’s Idea version)
05. The Five Corners Quintet – Three Corners (For Friends and Relatives version)
06. Roberto Roena – Take Five (N.Conte Rmx)
07. Bobby Hughes Combination – Kerma Elastica (N.Conte rmx)
08. Povo – You Are
09. Luisito Quintero – Our Love
10. Nicola Conte – Groovy Samba **
11. Sunaga T Experience – No Reason No Rhyme (Mode For Tatsuo)
12. Sunaga T Experience – A Healing Blue (Shape Of Jazz To Come version)
13. Nicola Conte Jazz Combo – Black Is The Graceful Veil (Acoustic Version) *

* unreleased ** first time on CD

The album Nicola ConteThe Modern Sound Of Nicola Conte – Versions In Jazz-Dub” (Schema) is going to be released November 27, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung