Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Nov 03 2009 | 19:20 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

6683Munich based label Permanent Vacation – usually more related to disco than house – is bringing you these 10 tracks, mostly fresh exclusive stuff for your DJing and listening pleasures. Just like in any other musical genre Permanent Vacation prefers to keep things diverse, so you can find some slo-mo house next to disco house and contemporary jack, or some Prescription vibes. The CD has been compiled by label heads Benjamin Fröhlich and Tom Bioly, and their aim was to bring together some of the best new talents in the recent House movement, 6th Borough Project, Mugwump, Walter Jones, Hunee, Neville Watson, Jacob Korn. Also included are two of their favourite house tracks of the year, the wonderful “The Voice From Planet Love” by Precious System and the deep pumping remix burner by John Talabot for Zwicker’s “Oddity”. To round things up, there are also two tracks of the label roster, one by newly formed producer team Roots Unit, and the other one also by John Talabot, Permanent Vacation’s very own upcoming producer from Barcelona.

The CD kicks off with three slo-motion House tracks at around 100 bpm. First off we have Roots Unit, who are two guys from the UK, only using analogue gear and old band machines to produce their music. The track is taken off their recent 12″ release on Permanent Vacation. Second comes a fantastic groove machine from one of the biggest acts in the disco/house sector in the UK at the moment – 6th Borough Project, the project from Craig Smith and THE remix man of the moment, “The Revenge”. “Naomi”, the third track, has been taken of John Talabot’s first 12″ on Permanent Vacation, which came out in spring 2009.

Walter Jones’ track “I Am Loved” starts the uptempo part of the compilation with a monster modulated bassline and some blissful dreamy vocals. Also worth checking is his fantastic recent release on DFA Records. Next up is Mugwump, the rising stars of the scene with 12″s on Kompakt and Cocoon. “Let Me Go” by Neville Watson is definitely in the old school vein, no surprise, as he has recently released a very interesting book with his brother called “Raving 89”, about the good times back then.

Precious System’s “The Voice From Planet Love” has been licensed from Running Back Records, one of the best labels around, and also one of the best tracks – on this CD in the rare edit version by Dixon. Hunee is one of Berlin’s finest, a top man and DJ, and now also producer. His first 12″ release, just out on Feel Music, is a burner, and “Standin’ High” is no exception. The John Talabot remix for Zwicker’s “Oddity” has been licensed from Compost Records, the remix has exactly the kind of vibe Permanent Vacation loves for the dancefloor. Lastly comes a track from German newcomer Jacob Korn, who recently released his first 12″ on Running Back. Deep, dark and lovely till the end.


01. Roots Unit – Mabonda
02. 6th Borough Project – Mc Lovin’
03. John Talabot – Naomi
04. Walter Jones – I Am Loved
05. Mugwump – T-Coy Jelly Drops
06. Neville Watson – Let Me Go
07. Precious System – The Voice From Planet Love (Dixon Edit)
08. Hunee – Standin’ High
09. Zwicker feat. Olivera Stanimirov – Oddity (John Talabot’s Misterioso Mix)
10. Jacob Korn – Grosskariert

The compilation VariousIf This Is House I Want My Money Back” (Permanent Vacation) is going to be released November 20, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung