Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Oct 29 2009 | 19:59 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

6640Widely considered to be the one of the world’s best club DJs, J-Rocc teams up with Jazzman Records and unsurprisingly delivers one of the finest collaboration mixes to date. Digging deep into the 200+ catalogue of tunes that is Jazzman and Funk 45, the Beat Junkie seamlessly flips up his own personal selection from the reissues that established the Jazzman labels as the leaders in the record world. Covering the entire spectrum from the start of Jazzman records in the ’90s, and across those genres that just sound better on wax, J-Rocc works as the designer that’s been given the best tools in the trade, and the finished product doesn’t disappoint.

Undoubtedly one of the most important figures in the underground music scene today, Jazzman Gerald has released everything from electronic library treasures to hardcore deep funk bangers, ethnic modal jazz to forgotten soulful masterpieces. From a record stall in Camden, as a collector and seller he remains unparalleled, counting amongst his clientele Gilles Peterson, Madlib, Pete Rock, Cut Chemist, Kenny Dope and DJ Shadow. His reissue labels – Funk 45, Soul 7 and Jazzman – have flawlessly brought forgotten and unknown records to the modern day market, and limited runs and collaborations (such as the world’s first Serato 7″) has meant that Jazzman Records never strays far from the buyer’s mind.

J-Rocc is a man that needs no introduction. Party rocker, turntablist, collector, producer and general hip-hop icon, his blends, cuts and mixes are a DJ’s blueprint. An old-school digger, J-Rocc’s sets often turn up unknown beats and breaks, scoured from the bins of whatever country he happens to be playing in.

So here’s a relentless label at the top of its game joining up with the undisputed king of the turntables. With a great deal of unspoken respect between the two parties, this harmonious collaboration not only rounds off what Jazzman is all about but also shows off the skills of J-Rocc, working as an introduction into two different worlds that cross-over whenever good music is involved.


01. Anthony Burns – Doing What You Need To Do (Intro)
02. Mary Lou Williams – The Credo
03. Lee Mason – Shady Blues
04. Vanessa Kendrick – 90% Of Me Is You
05. Bill Swift Trio – Daydreamin’
06. Eddie Warner – Devil’s Anvil
07. Soul Lifters – Hot Funky & Sweaty
08. Los Brasilios – Brasilian Beat
09. Soul Pleasers – Baby Don’t Cry
10. Third Guitar – Baby Don’t Cry
11. Little Beaver / Sam Baker – Do Right Man
12. Andy Loore – Mixed Drums
13. Salah Ragab – Neveen
14. George Guzman – Cacumen
15. Noro Morales – Soana
16. Har-You Percussion Group – Welcome To The Party
17. IRP-3 – Tema De Soninha
18. Personations & Organisation – Future II
19. Gamith – Darkness
20. Della Reese – It Was A Very Good Year
21. Innersouls – Take Your Time
22. Nina Simone – Funkier Than A Mosquito’s Tweeter
23. Lorez Alexandria – Baltimore Oriole
24. Primitive – Creation Of Music
25. Fabulous Originals – It Ain’t Fair But It’s Fun
26. Arthur Monday – What Goes Around
27. Wess & The Airedales – Black Out
28. Communicators Band – The Road
29. Diedre Wilson Tabac – Can’t Keep From Crying

The album J-RoccJ-Rocc Vs J-Man” (Jazzman) is going to be released November 13, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung