Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Sep 04 2009 | 14:36 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

5916Second only to Large Professor’s prophecy on Midnight Marauders; “Queens Represent, Buy The Album When I Drop It” no project in hip-hop has been alluded to on wax and then so heavily coveted and discussed as Esoteric’s new full length opus, Saving Seamus Ryan. The album originally labeled by Eso himself as “… coming soon” on his (with partner 7L) highly acclaimed “A New Dope” album is finally here and well worth the wait.

The full-length is an audio short story based on a bizarre dream that Esoteric had 3 years ago. As he describes it, “It was a crazy period in my life: I was engaged, in the process of finding a new home; the record business was going down the tubes, I was leaving a troubled past with a label to start my own one on a totally independent, self financed level … I had a lot of stress and reservations in my life. Celph and I had just built my Pterolab studio, I had started to really produce and was really getting into it, making a ton of beats and had a ton of ideas. I guess all that stress and those feelings just manifested.”

The album is broken into twenty chapters rather than individual tracks and is presented in a beautiful hard bound case book that includes the full short story and liner notes written by Mr. Ryan – a whopping 52 pages. Vocal contributions come from the legendary and consummate hip-hop theme-writer Masta Ace, long time collaborator Main Flow, and up and comers Blacastan, K.Flay and Qwill. Colourful characters from Eso’s childhood and subconscious also help along the journey (including a cameo by DJ Premier). Esoteric handles most of the production duties but is also backed by career long partner 7L and fellow East Coast Avenger DC the Midi Alien.

So the time is now; sit back, press play, crack the binding and follow along with one of hip hop’s most gifted minds as he proudly presents the most intricate and personal work of his career. Welcome To Saving Seamus Ryan …


01. Studio Time / Goodbye
02. The Darkest Park
03. Punks Shoot & Steal
04. Plotting My Revenge
05. Mass General / Macko’s Angle feat. Main Flow & Blacastan
06. I Need A Dope Beat
07. Bar Thief
08. I Rap Too Much
09. Modern Love (In Boston) feat. K.Flay
10. Ace’s Take feat. Masta Ace
11. No Features
12. Hold On feat. Qwill
13. Selling Spidey
14. Take Him To The Bridge
15. The King Is The Dog
16. Chocolate Popcorn
17. The Wrong Attitude
18. My Audition
19. The Good Fight
20. Back To The Lab

The album Esoteric (Army Of Pharoahs)Saving Seamus Ryan” (Fly Casual) is going to be released September 18, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung