Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Recent posts

Detroit Swindle
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Edu Imbernon
Oct 30, 2017
Dave Seaman
Oct 23, 2017
Julia Govor
Oct 16, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Aug 21 2009 | 13:10 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

5816Kids today don’t really know about house music. That’s fair to say isn’t it? Well thank god there’s someone out there willing to pick up the baton and run like bugger with it! Manuel Tur is a wunderkind from Essen, Germany who looks just about set to take the deep house world by storm because, while his mates were out smoking Camels and drinking Weissbier behind the Fahrradhalle, young Manuel was honing his craft by immersing himself in the sounds of Ian Pooley, Sebastien Leger and Swag.

It wasn’t long before his material started being released through labels such as Agave, SoSound and Sebastien Leger’s own Bits Music. But that wasn’t enough for Manuel so he decided to set up his own Smokestack Recordings which is how he hooked up with Freerange. His track “Portamento” became a staple in Jimpster’s DJ sets so he set about getting Manuel to record an EP for Freerange. This deep bomb and others like “Acorado” and “Clock Shift” have made him hot property in the world of house music.

As solo artist and in cooperation with his production partner Dplay he released several other house music classics on Freerange, Compost Black Label and Drumpoet Community ever since.

Almost two months ago he also released his eagerly awaited debut album “0201” on Freerange. The album is a departure from the more dancefloor-friendly productions Manuel Tur is known for: instead downtempo and abstract sounds sit happily together alongside broken beat-infused deep house and filtered French disco.

Manuel Tur’s Top 10 for August 2009:

01. Ribn – This Feeling (Mild Pitch)
02. Roof Light – In Your Hands (Styrax)
03. Shit Robot – Simple Things (Todd Terje Version) (DFA Records)
04. Levon Vincent – The Medium Is The Message EP (Novel Sound)
05. Redshape – 2010 (Delsin)
06. Joakim – Nebula Laughter (Versatile Records)
07. Bernard Badie – Move To The Beat (Mojuba)
08. Ribn – Cottbus (Ovum Recordings)
09. $tinkworx – MKB (W.T. Records)
10. Marco Bernardi – See You Through The Glass (Creme)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung