Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Detroit Swindle
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Aug 06 2009 | 15:26 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

5624Black Uhuru were the most successful act from Jamaica besides Bob Marley. They had an enormous cross-over success duirng the early to mid 80ies and were the first reggae act to win a Grammy.

Formed in Waterhouse it was only right and proper that Black Uhuru would lay their foundations at Jammys. “Love Crisis” originally released in 1977 in the UK on Count Shelley’s Third World imprint was remixed by Jammy in 1981 as “Black Sounds Of Freedom” at the height of Black Uhuru’s popularity. Both versions are included on this deluxe edition along with the crucial Prince Jammy dub mix along with three crucial DeeJay cuts from legendary Kingston 11 microphone man U Black. Years ahead of its time “Love Crisis” / “Black Sounds Of Freedom” represents the first major step of one of the most talented and influential vocal groups to ever come out of Jamaica.



01. I Love King Selassie
02. Satan Army Band
03. Time To Unite
04. Natural Mystic
05. Eden Out Deh
06. Love Crisis
07. African Love
08. Hard Ground
09. Willow Tree
10. Sorry For The Man
11. Eden Dub
12. Mystic Mix
13. His Imperial Majesty
14. Weeping Willow
15. Bad Girls Dub
16. Tonight Is The Night
17. Firehouse Special
18. African Culture
19. Crisis Dub
20. Sound Man Style


01. Crisis For Love
02. Stan Army Band
03. Tonight Is The Night To Unite
04. Eden Out Deh
05. Sorry For The Man
06. I Love King Selassie
07. Natural Mystic
08. Hard Ground
09. African Love
10. Willow Tree
11. King Of All Time feat. U Black
12. Crocodile Style feat. U Black
13. Love You Girl feat. U Black

The album Black UhuruBlack Sounds Of Freedom (Deluxe Edition)” (Greensleeves) is going to be released August 28, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung