Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Darius Syrossian
Jan 08, 2018
Dec 31, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Aug 05 2009 | 11:55 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

5585Sally Shapiro’s music is heavily influenced by 80s Italo disco. The project also includes the composer and producer Johan Agebjörn, both live in Gothenburg, Sweden. Their debut single “I’ll Be By Your Side” was released on the Austrian Diskokaine label in the Summer of 2006, and was later followed by the album “Disco Romance” and the single “Anorak Christmas”.

“Disco Romance” received overwhelming press reactions, earning an 8.5/10 and “Best New Music” at Pitchforkmedia in early 2007 (and #32 in their top 50 albums of 2007 chart), a number 11 position on the iTunes US electronic charts and numerous interviews with the reserved and ambiguous Shapiro in publications such as Vice and XLR8R. Among other enthusiasts were The Village Voice and The San Francisco Bay Guardian who claimed: “Fans of St. Etienne and Annie should run out and buy it before they’ve finished reading this sentence … early contender for album of the year.” In October 2007, the Canadian label Paper Bag Records re-released “Disco Romance” for North America. The release was nominated as “electronic/dance album of the year” on US Plug Awards, while Sally herself was nominated as “female artist of the year”.

The second Sally Shapiro album “My Guilty Pleasure” will be released on August 21st and is currently at the pressing plant. It features collaborations with Cloetta Paris and Tensnake and a lot of songwriting assistance from Roger Gunnarsson. On the whole it’s a romantic pop disco album just like “Disco Romance”, but maybe a bit more varied in style.

photo: Linnea Helmersson

Sally Shapiro / Johan Agebjörn first-half-of-2009 top 10 chart:

01. Saint Etienne – Method Of Modern Love (Heavenly Recordings)
02. Georges Vert – Eau Sauvage / Garden Of Lies (Loeb)
03. Coeur De Pirate – Comme Des Enfants (Le Matos Andy Carmichael Remix) (unreleased)
04. Leo Garcia – Electricistas (Popart Music Argentina)
05. 40 Thieves feat. Qzen – Don’t Turn It Off (Brennan Green Remix) (Permanent Vacation)
06. Beni – My Love Sees You (Classixx Remix) (Kitsuné)
07. Datassette – Weather Conditions (Echoecho)
08. Parallels – Ultralight (Thisisnotanexit)
09. Walter Jones – I’ll Keep On Loving You (DFA)
10. Lazer Crystal – Love Rhombus (Instrumental) (unreleased)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung