Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Love Machine
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 13, 2018
Feb 06, 2018
Jan 29, 2018
Movements Vol.9
Jan 22, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jul 20 2009 | 13:01 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

5453Hailing from Oxnard, California and beyond, Dudley Perkins (rap moniker Declaime) gained critical acclaim for collaborating with fellow Oxnardian heavyweights such as Madlib, Oh No, and Kankick. His raw commentary is known for being deeply rooted in funk and feelgood grooves of yesteryear while maintaining today’s edgy truths of love and war.

“Holy Smokes” is his latest release with Georgia Anne Muldrow behind the boards and is named aptly so – its swirling organs, gut-wrenching concepts and hard-hitting rhythms are bound to astound you. On “Holy Smokes”, Dudley Perkins continues in his quest for self-discovery and questions the universe at large.

Perkins debuted on the hip hop scene in 1995 on Tha Alkaholiks’ album “Coast II Coast” as Declaime. His debut full-length “Andsoitisaid” (produced by Madlib) followed in 2001 on Superrappin. In 2004, “Conversations With Dudley”, an album that bridged his two musical identities – that of Declaime and Dudley Perkins – came out on Up Above Records. Stones Throw released Dudley Perkins’ debut “A Lil Light” in 2003, and “Expressions (2012 A.U.)” in 2006. Perkins and Georgia Anne Muldrow joined forces for 2007’s “G&D” (Look Records).


01. Intro
02. To Declaime
03. Fonky Soul
04. Good Beats
05. Boogie
06. The God
07. Travelin
08. Understandment
09. Bizzerlude
10. Sally
11. Yeah Yeah
12. Whyising
13. Still Standing
14. Evil Overloards
15. E&R
16. Uncle Ruckus
17. Cricket Cop
18. Soawake
19. Chem Trails
20. Run It Down
21. Summer Daze
22. Mediesel
23. Love Yo Nabor
24. Eyeluvu
25. Souldiers
26. Outro

The album Dudley PerkinsHoly Smokes” (E1) is going to be released July 31, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung