Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Darius Syrossian
Jan 08, 2018
Dec 31, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 24 2009 | 16:26 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

4512In 1993 Oliver Lichtwald aka Lightwood began to mix breakbeats on parties in and around his hometown Tübingen. Together with his production partner Telmo A he started one of the longest-running and top rocking drum’n’bass events in Germany, the monthly “Pressure” night. He also founded his own record label, Santorin Records. Lightwood has been quite busy over the past years, celebrating the sound of soulful drum’n’bass, producing, and touring Europe.

On May 22, 2009, Santorin Records are releasing the fourth instalment in their popular “Ambassadors” compilation series. The double-CD “Ambassadors 4 – From Amen to Z” unites a multiplicity of drum’n’bass styles – high-pressure pop, clouds of old-school jungle, dark cyclones of bass, macro-experiments in climate manipulation. What the tracks have in common is Santorin’s exacting musicality: breeze or tornado, it’s all been past a tuner. No need to listen for melodies. The melodies will find you, and, with a little luck, hack your brain stem.

For “Ambassadors 4”, Santorin looked beyond the neighborhood to lend a creative platform to deep pressure experts from Russia, Finland, Romania, Austria, and France, to the U.S. and Canada. Swamped with more than 1500 demos, the puny but valiant label has compiled a collection of experimental protocols that moves relentlessly from the findings of renowned drum’n’bass researchers to the musings of fresh-baked lab assistants – onward and upward.

Lightwood’s Top 10:

01. V.A. – Ambassadors 4 (Santorin)
02. Young Ax – Gangster Boogie (Sugaphonic)
03. Bachelors Of Science – Warehouse Dayz (Horizons)
04. DJ Stretch – Papa Lover (Serum Remix) (Stepback)
05. Dave Owen – On Point (Peer Pressure)
06. Stunna – Back In Time (Outsider)
07. Dan HabarNam – Light (Play:Musik)
08. Björk – All Is Full Of Love (Chris SU Rmx) (MNM)
09. Operon & Crix – Pure Energy (Unsigned)
10. Electrosoul System – Attention (Kos.Mos)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung