Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

Recent posts

Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
Noya Rao
Nov 16, 2017
Feeling Nice Vol.4
Oct 30, 2017
Prinz Pi
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Feb 17 2009 | 14:26 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

3850_featuresOne of the most powerful labels in dance music and one of the biggest success stories turns 5. Great Stuff Recordings looks back with pride on its countless fantastic releases and amazing artist family. It all began back in 2003 in Munich with a few nice tracks by founding member Tomcraft, the British duo Coburn, and Gus Gus, the label’s very special friends from Iceland. These not only led towards highly acclaimed album releases by Gregor Tresher, Butch, Coburn, Ramon Tapia and Lützenkirchen, but also to numerous international underground club hits.

Some even appealed to a broader audience and climbed up the single charts. Great Stuff clearly started as one of THE leading electro house labels, breaking into unknown territories with genre-defining releases like Coburn’s “We Interrupt This Program”, The Egg’s “Walking Away / Tocadisco Remix”, and Mason’s “Exceeder”. Though it was never about that one sound for Great Stuff Recordings, the musical direction has always been clear: peaktime club tunes from any genre – be it house, electro or techno, from minimal to maximal. It was always about the premier league of tasteful club anthems, the future classics with that extra melody or vocal, rather than just about pure DJ tools. Just like the steady change of the club scene with its constantly evolving styles and genres Great Stuff’s sound moves and develops accordingly. Releases by Gregor Tresher, Martin Eyerer, Lützenkirchen, Namito, and Butch are very clear signs that the times of electro house are over.

For the A&R Rainer Weichhold spotting new talents goes hand in hand with the steady renewal of the Great Stuff sound. Lützenkirchen, Butch, Swen Weber, Mason etc. quickly became new global players in the electronic scene and started a great career from zero to none. And the next future hero is about to take off: Ramon Tapia from Belgium.

Every innovation still has its roots in the past, that’s why the Great Stuff Roots Edition pays respect to special classics and lost treasures. Great originals by Rockers Hi-Fi, Whirlpool Productions, Nicolette and Pressure Drop have enjoyed new interpretations by different remixers. In Spring 2009 it will be time for another jewel: Luomo’s “Tessio” with new mixes by Stimming and Spektre.

Also compilation-wise Great Stuff is trying new concepts and possibilities. “Great Carnival Stuff” and “Great Summergames Stuff” (for the Olympic Games 2008) have only been the start of these compilations including exclusively produced tracks only. In late Summer 2009 it will be “Great Oktoberfest Stuff” with the best music you can imagine strictly from Bavaria.

The double CD “5 Years Of Great Stuff” gives you the perfect overview and outlook of the diverse sound of Great Stuff: CD 1, presented by Tomcraft & Lützenkirchen lets you travel through the back catalogue with their ‘Best Of Great Stuff’ mix: 35 classics mixed, mashed up and edited, from left to right, from the big classics to the latest tunes. CD2 exclusively consists of brand new versions from current Great Stuff artists, remixing their respective favourites out of the Great Stuff Recordings catalogue. Plus a very special highlight, the birthday serenade from Tomcraft & Lützenkirchen. Enjoy!



01. Klovn – I Want You (District One Remix) / Mason vs. Princess Superstar – Perfect Exceeder (Acappella)
02. Butch – Amelie
03. Eyerer & Namito – Seefeuer
04. Namito – City Of Gods / Eyerer & Chopstick – Electric
05. Rockers Hi-Fi – Push Push (M.A.N.D.Y. Remix)
06. Stephan Hinz – Diescinerum
07. Gregor Tresher – Battery
08. Rainer Weichhold – Bamboo (Format:B Remix)
09. Margot Meets The Melody Maker – Torch (Original)
10. Mason – The Ridge (Oliver Klein & Peter Jürgens Remix)
11. Lützenkirchen – Paperboy (D-Nox & Beckers Remix)
12. Coburn pres. Dumb Blonde – We Have The Technology / Trick & Kubic – Easy (Acappella)
13. Steve Angello pres. Who’s Who – Sweden
14. Mike Monday – Zum Zum (Audiojack Remix) / Coburn vs Dumb Blonde – Sugar Lips (Acappella)
15. Tomcraft – When I Was Sixteen / Hard & Cheap – Too Late (Acappella)
16. Alex Cappelli – Bloody Notes
17. Butch – On The Line (Oxia Remix)
18. Fergie – Ireland / Nicolette – No Government (Acappella)
19. Ramon Tapia – Mini Jack / Mike Monday – Zum Zum (Acappella)
20. Lützenkirchen – All That Jazz (Popof Remix 01)
21. Tomcraft – Boogie Nights
22. Eyerer & Namito – Quipa (Etienne De Crécy Remix) / The Egg – Wall (Acappella)
23. Jean Claude Ades & Vincent Thomas – Shingaling / Coburn – We Interrupt This Program
24. Coburn – Give Me Love (Lützenkirchen Remix)
25. The Egg – Walking Away (Tocadisco Remix)
26. Lützenkirchen – Daily Disco
27. Micky Monzza & Joseph Disco – Bounce Baby (Lützenkirchen Mixdown)
28. Gregor Tresher – A Thousand Nights (Dubfire Quiet Storm Remix)


01. Rockers Hi-Fi – Push Push (Rainer Weichhold Remix)
02. Ramon Tapia – Can You Dig It (Butch Remix)
03. Mason – The Ridge (Oliver Koletzki Remix)
04. Gregor Tresher – Black Rain (Mihalis Safras Remix)
05. Rocha & Lewinger – Down Seq (Martin Eyerer Remix)
06. Butch & Amir – Set It Off (Ramon Tapia Remix)
07. Gregor Tresher – Running Systems (Oliver Klein Remix)
08. Rainer Weichhold – Bamboo (Namito Remix)
09. Karotte – Tronic (Gregor Tresher Remix)
10. Gusgus – Lust (Tonka Remix)
11. Namito – City Of Gods (Fergie Remix)
12. Tomcraft & Lützenkirchen – Birthday Present (Exclusive Track)

The compilation Various5 Years Of Great Stuff” (Great Stuff) is going to be released February 27, 2009.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung