Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , , , , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Sep 22 2008 | 17:01 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Populated from the centre to the suburbs with brand new killers, this is London Elektricity’s fourth studio album “Syncopated City” – an intense metropolis of songs and soundscapes, with foundations underpinned by concrete beats and basslines.

Coming to prominence at the turn of the 21st century, “London Elektricity” was initially a musical partnership between Hospital Records founding fathers Tony Colman and Chris Goss, as a vehicle for their twisted loungecore D&B creations. The oldskool classic “Pull The Plug” was the first Long Player to bear the London Elektricity moniker, and was released to great critical acclaim in 1999. Tony took the LE mantle on solo around 2003 and released the seminal “Billion Dollar Gravy” LP before the birth of the London Elektricity live show. Another classic album “Power Ballads” and two live DVDs followed off the back of a hectic touring schedule. Having remixed the likes of Underworld, Nitin Sahwney and Hard Fi London Elektricity is a production force to be reckoned with – the original exponent of “fast soul music” Tony Colman manages to combine heartfelt soul, with a level of musical literacy and emotion unparalleled in Drum & Bass.

“Syncopated City” features the incredible vocals of longtime London Elektricity collaborator (and award winning Jazz Legend) Liane Carroll like you’ve never heard her before – haunting and suspicious on “This Dark Matter”, performing vocal gymnastics over “The Point Of No Return” and “All Hell Is Breaking Loose”. Swedish vocalist Elsa Hedberg debuts on the incessantly catchy “Just One Second”, while the man himself Tony Colman adds his own vocals and adlibs throughout. With classic London Elektricity funk on “Sat Nav” and “All Hell Is Breaking Loose” to keep the dancefloor rocking, and deeper moodier moments on the likes of “Uska” and “Bare Religion”.


01. Bare Religion
02. This Dark Matter
03. Just One Second
04. All Hell Is Breaking Loose
05. Southeastern Dream
06. Attack Ships On Fire
07. Point Of No Return
08. Outnumbered
09. Uska
10. Sat Nav
11. Syncopated City Revisited

The album London ElektricitySyncopated City” (Hospital) is going to be released September 26, 2008.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung