Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Love Machine
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 19, 2018
Florian Kupfer
Feb 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, May 16 2008 | 13:00

The fifty ninth release on Pressure Sounds is due out on the 13th of June 2008. The label-portrait “Micron Music – Every Mouth Must Be Fed” takes its name from an I Roy track featured on the set and one that neatly sums up the ethos behind Micron Records Limited. Their set up, based on Retirement Road in Kingston, Jamaica, gave countless producers and artists a creative opening for their work that otherwise would have been denied to them.

“Conference at Waterhouse … your destination King Tubby’s studio” intones Jah Stitch as the album opens with his tougher than tough version to the “Satta Dread” rhythm followed by some superb vocals from Junior Byles & Joe Higgs, a selection of top talk from deejays U Roy & I Roy, horns led instrumentals from Tommy McCook & Bobby Ellis and some superlative Tubby’s mixes that are not only rare but show the dub master at his very best.

As usual Pressure Sounds have compiled tracks that offer music fans that little bit extra and have again unearthed some overlooked gems and rare records that will touch your soul. Was there ever a better Jamaican singer than Junior Byles? He’s up there with the best of them and “Lorna Banana” and his interpretation of “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg” are amongst his finest recordings … the highly sought after “Our Rights” from The Defenders is text book Kingston style vocal harmony with classical sufferers lyrics … I Roy should need little in the way of introduction and is probably the most consistent deejay that Jamaica ever produced. The production throughout is clean and crisp with Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee and the not quite so well known Pete Weston at the helm. Pete was one of the trio of musical entrepreneurs that ran the label.

Perhaps Micron is not as instantly recognisable as many of the more celebrated Jamaican labels but any half ways decent reggae collection will be bound to include more than a couple of Micron records.
“Every Mouth Must Be Fed” highlights their work and puts the focus on an organisation that really was important both as a label and as a business. This crackling Pressure Sounds compilation showcases totally re-mastered tracks that present the music at its best and that also comes packed with the usual excellent graphics, photographs, extensive liner notes and in-depth interviews with Pete Weston.


01. Conference At Waterhouse – Jah Stitch
02. Conference Version
03. Lorna Banana – Junior Byles
04. Revolution Is For The Chinaman – Pete Weston & The Flames
05. Straight To Scratch Head (Lorna Banana Version)
06. Message From The Top – I Roy
07. Our Rights – The Defenders
08. Our Version -The Defenders
09. The Right To Live – U Roy
10. Tribute To Muhammad Ali – Tommy McCook
11. Wages Of Crime – Joe Higgs
12. Wages Of Crime Version
13. Ska Baby – Bobby Ellis
14. Ska Version Instrumental
15. Every Mouth Must Be Fed – I Roy
16. Ain’t Too Proud To Beg – Junior Byles
17. Last Of The Love Songs (Version) – Junior Byles
18. Black Organ – Blacker Black
19. Mad Mad Hatter – I Roy
20. Mad Mad Horn – Version

The album VariousMicron Music – Every Mouth Must Be Fed” (Pressure Sounds) has been released June 13, 2008.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung