Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Daniel Avery
Feb 13, 2018
Charlotte De Witte
Feb 05, 2018
Jan 29, 2018
Jan 22, 2018
Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Darius Syrossian
Jan 08, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, May 09 2008 | 17:15 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Munk is the project of Mathias Modica – one of the two masterminds behind Gomma records, Germany’s leading label for all kinds of new and freaked out disco inspired music. Munk released the “Future Disco & Psycho Soul” (i-D magazine) debut album “Aperitivo” in 2005. The album included the club hit “Kick Out The Chairs!”, featuring James Murphy (aka LCD Soundsystem) – the boss of New York’s finest disco label DFA records on vocals.

Now the follow up album “Cloudbuster” will be released on May 30, 2008. And the timing is perfect: The last musical trends, such as minimal house and new rave, are getting a bit annoying and a lot of people are turning to the new disco boheme. In fact, for a few months Gomma has been more in demand than ever: Several Gomma acts have been chosen to support stars like Daft Punk, LCD Soundsystem and Soulwax on their gigs and have been asked to remix bands like Bloc Party, Digitalism, Gorillaz and Superdiscount.

Thus, it’s no wonder some interesting people joined Munk for this album: Italian actress Asia Argento sings three songs, including the first single “Live Fast! Die Old!”. Other participations on “Cloudbuster” include Matty Safer from New York’s discopunkers The Rapture and Busy P of Ed Banger records. He fell in love with the first single “Live Fast! Die Old!”, and he proposed to do his own version, which will be released in June.

“Cloudbuster” is not a retro disco album. Its futuristic astral funk from the year 2099 mixed up with 70ies psychedelic vibes, 80ies Italodisco and 90ies electronica. The album starts with some dirty disco hymns and ends in a superslow krauty cineastic sound orgy. The Munk project initially was created by Mathias Modica and his partner Jonas Imbery – who co-produced and co-wrote also this album. Imbery now left Munk and will come up with his new solo project Telonius. Munk now is Modica alone. For live gigs he will be joined by 3 other musicians. Let there be Munk!

01. Moulinex – Leisure Suit (White)
02. Maral Salmassi – Fire Gem (Fukk Off Rmx) (Television Rocks)
03. Munk – Life fast! Die Old! (Busy P RMX) (Gomma)
04. The Juan MacLean – Happy House (DFA)
05. DJ KAOS – Asteroiden Melodien (Astrolab)
06. Night Communication – Lets Face The Music (Heartbeat)
07. Glimmer Twins – Gee Gee Fazzi (Eskimo)
08. The Shades Of Love – Come And Make Me … (Scorpgemi)
09. Moss Eisley – Tomski & Fredboy Edit (Tartelet)
10. Telonius – Monster (Gomma)
11. Bishi – Nights At The Circus (LP) (Gryphon Records)
12. Rubies – Explode From The Center (LP) (Telle)
13. Late Of The Pier – Late Of The Pier (LP) (Moshi Moshi)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung