Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Love Machine
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 19, 2018
Florian Kupfer
Feb 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 04 2008 | 14:27

Three years ago Compost Records was breaking new grounds with the formation of the Blacklabel Series. The aim was to put Compost back on the dancefloor map and into the cases of the worlds leading international DJs. The formula was easy: less jazz and soul – more house and tekky stuff. The outcome wasn’t the “typical” Compost sound anymore which people related with the Munich based label. This was bleepy and creepy, dark and pumping! Distinguishable by its artwork, colour and sound, the Blacklabel Series turned out to be the perfect imprint to release forward thinking club tracks, DJ tools and sonic experiments – “cause Zeitgeist won’t stop!” (De:Bug on Blacklabel). To this day there are 30 releases on the Blacklabel imprint and the backing and praising from key players worldwide is growing with each new 12″ …

Once again the third volume unites the brightest moments of the successful 12″ series on a CD compilation – this time in form of a special DJ mix done by uprising Blacklabel act Jay Shepheard. This new jack arrived on the scene last year with the release of his debut EP “Blacklabel #19” on Compost. With the help of strong DJ support from top Jocks like Joris Voorn, Ben Watt, Prins Thomas, Marcus Worgull, Ludovic Llorca this EP gave Jay good profile straight off the bat which he built upon nicely with the follow up EP “Blacklabel #28″ released in December 2007. At the moment he is finishing his next 12” on Compost including three new tracks from Jay himself and a strong Manuel Tur & Dplay remix of his first hit “Pipes N Sneakers” (the last track on this compilation). Further keep your eyes open for his recent remix works for Juno Records and Faze Action.


“The Blacklabel delivers once again! Proper deep and rolling vibes to hypnotize the dancefloor.” Jimpster

“Fucking Amazing!!! Good step toward the next level of electronic music …” Osunlade

“Real quality house music!” Ashley Beedle

“Congratulations … great show!” DJ Hell


01. Phreek Plus One – Bikini
02. Alex Attias Pres. Mustang – Finding Who We Are (Quarion Dub)
03. Muallem – Houseworx Part One: I Came To Jack
04. Manuel Tur & Dplay – Conchord
05. Motor City Drum Ensemble – Stripped Down To The Bone
06. Phreek Plus One – New York Dolls
07. Motor City Drum Ensemble – Get Slapped Up
08. Jay Shepheard – 4nc
09. Wagon Cookin – Start To Play (Christian Prommer Remix Pt.2 Piano Mix)
10. Tj Kong & Nuno Dos Santos feat. Robert Owens – Merging (Wild Glitch Dub)
11. Shahrokh Sound Of K – Break It Down (Dub)
12. Matt Flores – Solar Winds
13. Minus 8 – Night Digger (Late Night Edit)
14. Jay Shepheard – Pipes N Sneakers

The compilation VariousCompost Black Label Series Vol.3” (Compost) has been released May 9, 2008.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung