Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
Noya Rao
Nov 16, 2017
Feeling Nice Vol.4
Oct 30, 2017
Prinz Pi
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jan 21 2008 | 15:07 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Nicolay & Kay release new album on Nicolay’s own label!

“Time:Line”, the new concept album from Nicolay, the internationally renowned producer behind the 2004 underground hiphop classic “Connected” by The Foreign Exchange, and Kay Jackson of The Foundation, who has worked with A Tribe Called Quest, Sa-Ra Creative Partners, Bilal and many others, will be released in February 2008 on Nicolay Music Recordings.

The album draws guest artists from both their musical families. Features include Oh No, Myth & S1 of Strange Fruit Project, Stokley Williams of Mint Condition, Chip Fu of Fu Schnickens, The Luv Bugz (PZ of Ideal & Erica ‘Miss America’ Marlin), Nicole Hurst and many more.

Both the CD version as well as the gatefold 2LP version of the album will be released on February 1st. A special Japan edition is scheduled for early spring. The instrumentals will be available separately.

Nicolay is best known as the producing half of The Foreign Exchange (with Phonte Coleman of Little Brother), whose debut album “Connected” (BBE; 2004) made a huge impact on the underground hip hop and soul scene, garnering praise from listeners, critics and peers alike. The Foreign Exchange was featured on MTV, VH1, BET and NPR, while “Connected” quickly reached #1 on CMJ’s Hip Hop chart. In 2005, Nicolay was one of URB Magazine’s ‘Next 100’. Since then, he has produced for Little Brother, Supastition, Masta Ace, Strange Fruit Project and Zion I, remixed tracks for Roy Ayers, Bob James, Candy Dulfer and many others, toured the United States, Canada, Europe and Japan, and released several albums under his own name, most notably “City Lights Volume 1.5” (BBE; 2005) and “Here” (BBE; 2006), as well as started his own label.

Kay Jackson has been one of Houston’s most promising emcees ever since forming his first group Example with longtime best friend DJ Cipher, in 1996. They recorded two albums together featuring the likes of Bun B., K-Otix and Jason Moran. Kay soon began to expand his abilities by making beats and his next project, The Foundation, formed with Mint Condition drummer Chris “Daddy” Dave showed a remarkable musical growth, leading the way to collaborations with Ali Shaheed Muhammed, SA-RA Creative Partners, Bilal and Nicolay. “I became familiar with Nicolay’s sound during his early Okayplayer days and he has been one of my favorite producers ever since”, says Kay. “We started to work on some tracks and he was always honest with me. In fact, it was Nicolay who convinced me to continue making music!”. 2007 found Kay stronger than ever, making his unreleased 2005 solo album “The Talk Show” available as a download for his fans before teaming up with Nicolay to record what he considers his best work yet: Nicolay & Kay “Time:Line”!


02. Blizzard feat. Toby Hill
03. The Lights feat. Myth & S1 and Nicole Hurst
04. Through The Wind feat. Stokley Williams
05. What We Live
06. I’ve Seen Rivers
07. Tight Eyes feat. Oh No and The Luv Bugz
08. As The Wheel Turns
09. The Gunshot feat. Chip Fu
10. Grand Theft Auto
11. When You Die
12. Dancing With The Stars feat. Soulfruit

The album Nicolay & KayTime:Line” (Nicolay Music) has been released February 1, 2008.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung