Tuesday, Nov 20 2007 | 12:48

British DJ and producer Jay Shepherd fell in love with electronic music in the 90s when his older sister introduced him to pirate tapes from the London rave scene. This affection flourished with the encounter of jungle and UK garage. Naturally decks and sampler came next, as Jay became immersed in this fascinating new world of sounds.

Soon Jay Shepheard advanced into the inner spheres of the music business. Besides starting a career at the online record store Juno, he worked as club DJ, press promoter and studio hand at South London based ‘Studio 207’ used by acts like Basement Jaxx and Mutiny. His studio skills soon benefited from the exposure at ‘207’ and a year in 2003 later his first releases came out under the alias John Julian on the Sounds Like Soul imprint run by fellow Juno employee Adam ‘The Doc’ Roberts.

In the years that followed Jay moved through the ranks at Juno and with 5 years record shop work experience under his belt he now has a broad influence base for his current productions. His music is a mixture of classic Detroit techno, jacking electro house, disco influences and the modern minimal sounds. On November 30, Jay Shepherd is going to release his second EP on Compost Black Label called “Compost Black Label 28”.


01. Raiders Of The Lost Arp – Beyond The Darkness (Galaxy To Galaxy (Nature Italy)
02. Trickski – Lost Tape (Sonar Kollektiv)
03. Jay Shepheard – Compost Black Label 28 (Compost Black Label)
04. Still Going – On And On / Still Going Theme (DFA)
05. Urban Soul – Alright (Jay Shepheard & Russ Davis Mixes) (Juno)
06. Quarion – Karasu (Crowdpleaser Remix) (Drumpoet Comunity)
07. Reverso 68 – Piece Together (Part 2) (Eskimo)
08. Kaos – Bang The Box (LP version) (!K7)
09. Space Katzle – Motorcitysoul (Jerome Sydenham Remix) (Aus Music)
10. Douglas Murphy – Raining In Barcelona (CDR)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung