Monday, Oct 15 2007 | 14:50

Matt Flores began DJing and MCing in the late eighties. His affinity for British club music was huge, as well as the eternal solidarity to the old-venerable mothers of the club music: hip hop and reggae/dub. In 1993 when Matt was listen to hardcore jungle tunes of the Ragga Twins or Rebel MC, he got hooked and he wanted to produce his own tracks. He joined forces with J.Buzz and Jackie Hardt, forming the production team Kingpress, that later became part of the Gush Collective. It’s discography includes approx. 60 publications on labels such as Typhoon, Basswerk, Konter, Wicked Wax, Pathfinder, and many more. Later on Matt and J.Buzz created the producer duo 2Smart and released on Gush Collective. Cooperations with Zed Bias and Tyree Cooper followed. Matt also formed his own drum & bass label Compiler.

In 2001 Matt felt inspired by the “Combination Traffic” compilation. A mad solo track came out for “Traffic II: Pursuit Of Happiness”. A short time later he released the 3-track maxi “Digital Self”, which built on the path laid down by “Pursuit Of Happiness” and by releasing his album project “Metaworld” in 2003. After the success of the album he released a few maxis and remixes, further developing his musical styles toward house and beyond.

He released “Lissi/Metajack” on Combination Records, which emerges again and again in the mixtapes of John Tejada and is recognized well by many other Djs. Or last summers “Outer Rim EP” on Metromusic, which made it to # 3 in the Groove charts and is often played by such Djs as AME. His work for the Compost Black (“Compost Black Label 20″ 12”) was even more successful, selling out in just four days. In late September there was the release of his latest work, the “Nice Day EP” 12″ on Farside Records including a Motorcitysoul remix.

01. Matt Flores & Singer Jay – Have A Nice Day EP (Farside)
02. Motorcity Drumensemble – Like This (CD-R)
03. Manuel Tur & DPlay – Clock Shift EP (Compost Black Label)
04. Matt Flores – Our Secret Garden (Combination CD-R)
05. Tyree – Take Me Away (Goozebumpz Edit) (Supadupa)
06. Yse – Bounce Back (Lost My Dog)
07. Zed Bias – Time (Sick Trumpet CD-R)
08. Westpark Unit – Bar Of Choice EP (Future Classic CD-R)
09. Alfonso Mango – Can U Feel (Made 2 Play)
10. Electrons – Red Light Don’t Stop (Wall Of Sound)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung