Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Oct 12 2007 | 16:44

“Call this what you want – but not Jazz. John Coltrane would turn over in his grave,” some disappointed customer wrote on Amazon about the Future Sounds Of Jazz series, apparently unaware that the term is used as synonym with the full spectrum of modern sophisticated club music. No matter if the beats are straight or broken, up- or downtempo the music connoisseur Michael Reinboth presents rarities, exclusives and contemporary beauties with a certain jazzy attitude.

So welcome to the eleventh chapter of this exquisite compilation series that was launched way back in 1995. The longevity may be the most obvious proof for its success – and quality! Not for nothing in the past years Future Sounds Of Jazz has been voted repeatedly one of the best compilation series of all times in English and German music magazines like Mixmag, Jockey Slot and Groove. But instead of being misled to rest on his laurels Mr. Reinboth is only incited to update his track record.

Anyway, a lot of great soulful electronic music out there at the moment and this package right here takes you on a diversified trip into the deeper spheres of advanced dance music. The selection ranges from warm but fragile minimal house by Solomun & Stimming to Christian Prommer’s luscious tech-jazz-rework of Koop. With the rare Extended Mix of “Movin” by 400 Blows there is even some kind of protoype Nu Disco track from the 80s included.

Business as usual, there is a bunch of exclusive and unreleased highlights awaiting you like the brand new Panoptikum Remix of Invisible Session’s “Til The End”, “Salome” by British newcomer Joash or the instrumental remix. These stand out cuts will be available on CD or for download for the very first time.

Surely John Coltrane would turn over in his grave when hearing this – looking for some more room to dance!


01. Joash – Salome *
02. Koop – Drum Rhythm A (Christian Prommer’s Drumlesseon Mix)
03. Solomun & Stimmig – Eiszauber
04. Yannah Valdevit – Superlight *
05. James Din A4 – Mit 66 Jahren
06. Zeynep Erbay – Flowers
07. The Invisible Session – Till The End (Panoptikum 2007 Remix) *
08. No Theory – Strictly Instrumental *
09. Wojtek Urbanski – Violet Violin *
10. Dennis Ferrer – Son Of Raw
11. Blackjoy – Moustache (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
12. 400 Blows – Movin (Special Extended Club Mix)

* exclusive tracks

The compilation VariousFuture Sounds Of Jazz Vol. 11” (Compost) is going to be released November 9, 2007.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung