Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Aug 06 2007 | 13:25

In the tradition of producers DJ Premier, Pete Rock, Hi-Tek and Kanye West, 9TH Wonder has built a bridge that spans the underground and commercial hip-hop world. With production credits that range from Jay-Z to Jean Grae, 9TH Wonder has become the next producer to rocket to the top of every artist’s “must have” list.

Born near Salem North Carolina in 1975, 9TH was drawn to music at an early age. As a youth, 9TH spent his days playing one of the several instruments he was proficient in for the school band, and the afternoons listening to Afrika Bambataa, Soul Sonic Force, Biz Markie and Slick Rick.

9TH Wonder began producing in college at North Carolina Central University, where he would eventually meet his lifelong friends and collaborators that now form The Justus League. While at school, 9th formed the group Little Brother with emcees Phonte and Rapper Big Pooh. The group’s 2003 debut album The Listening gained widespread critical acclaim, and brought 9th’s production to hip hop fans around the world. The album was an exception in the current state of rap, proving that soulful mediations are still relevant and necessary.

9th’s distinctive style lies in his drum kicks pacing sultry vocal samples, soul loops and jazz sentiment. His background in classical music and music theory also give his music a sonic breath and maturity. Since his start with Little Brother, he released an unauthorized remix of Nas’ God’s Son, which brought new life to Nas’ best album since Illmatic, and he moved on to produce for a wide array of artists including Jay-Z, Lloyd Banks, Destiny’s Child, Mary J. Blige, Memphis Bleek, De La Soul, Murs, Jean Grae, Masta Ace and more. He received a Grammy award for his work on Mary J Blige’s album Breakthrough. Now, after being appointed Artist of Residence at North Carolina Central University, he teaches a hip hop course there with Christopher “Play” Martin of the group Kid-n-Play.

In 2004, Hall of Justus teamed up with the label 6 Hole Records, to release a series of albums from the crew, including 9th Wonder’s Dream Merchant Vol 1, which was only available as part of a limited edition 3-CD box set. But 2007 will see the release of 9th Wonder’s full length debut album, Dream Merchant V.2, which features Mos Def, Jean Grae, Memphis Bleek, Camp Lo, Sean Price, Little Brother, Strange Fruit Project, Skyzoo, and more!


01. Mr. Dream Merchant Intro
02. Shots ft Big Dho & Sean Price
03. Merchant of Dreams ft Chaundon, Skyzoo, L.E.G.A.C.Y., & Torae
04. Brooklyn in My Mind ft Mos Def, Jean Grae, & Memphis Bleek
05. Sunday ft Keisha Shontelle & Chaundon
06. Baking Soda ft Big Treal
07. Reminisce ft Big Remo the Great & Novej of the A.L.L.I.E.S.
08. No Time to Chill ft Little Brother
09. It Ain’t Over ft Jozeemo & Tyler Woods
10. The Last Time ft Royce the 5’9, Vandalyzm & Naledge of the Midwest
Wreckin’ Crew- The Chi, The Lou, & The D
11. Saved ft Saigon & Joe Scudda
12. The Milky Lowa ft Camp Lo
13. Backlash ft Sean Boog of the Away Team & Buckshot of Black Moon
14. Thank You ft D.O.X. & O-Dash
15. Let it Bang ft Ness & Skyzoo
16. What Makes a Man ft Rapper Big Pooh & Buddy Klein

Download free Album sampler (mp3)

“The Dream Merchant Vol.2” 2LP & CD will be in stores October 9th on 6 Hole Records! Watch out for the 2nd Single “Sunday” out in September!

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung