Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Jun 20 2007 | 21:33

Producer, arranger, instrumentalist, and label owner Greg Carmichael ran with the prominent members of the underground disco/boogie brigade like Patrick Adams and LeRoy Burgess, but he remains one of the lesser recognized figures from the scene. Despite this, he was every bit a key behind-the-scenes member of the dance music world and deserves the recognition accorded to those he worked with. Carmichael, along with Adams, was behind Universal Robot Band, Inner Life, Phreek, and Bumblebee Unlimited. Each of these outfits delivered a handful of club classics that endure as house-DJ favorites decades after their original release (”Dance and Shake Your Tamborine,” “Barely Breaking Even,” “Weekend,” “Love Bug,” “Moment of My Life,” and “I’m Caught Up” being amongst the most popular). A number of Bumblebee Unlimited singles were released through Carmichael’s Red Greg label, and Inner Life’s “I’m Caught Up (In a One Night Love Affair)” was originally issued on his TCT label before Prelude purchased the rights and catapulted it to the top of many club playlists. Carmichael also worked closely with Burgess for the Convertion (”Let’s Do It”) and Logg (”I Know You Will,” “Dancing Into the Stars”) projects, which also yielded some cream-of-the-crop disco/boogie. The only time Carmichael truly tasted the mainstream was when Cathy Dennis’ “Touch Me (All Night Long),” a cover of a Fonda Rae tune written with Adams, blitzed the pop charts in 1991. By then, he was all but completely removed from the music industry. Peter Brown and Patrick Adams are proud to present this rare collective of the work of Greg Carmichael and his label, Red Gregg Records. “…Another guardian angel, Gregg and I first met in the early 70s. It was a mutual admiration society. Working with Gregg brought out another side of me…” (Patrick Adams)


01. Universal Robot Band – Dance And Shake Your Tambourine
02. Universal Robot Band – Space Disco
03. Universal Robot Band – Freak With Me
04. Tony Aiken And Future 2000 – Unity Sing It Shout It
05. Tony Aiken And Future 2000 – Better Days
06. Tony Aiken And Future 2000 – Soul Disco

01. Sammy Gorden And The Hip Huggers – Making Love
02. The Invitations – We Don’t Allow (No Sitting Down Here)
03. Conversion – I Can’t Stop Dancin’ (Dance Version)
04. Poopee & The N.Y. Squirrels – Bust That Nut (Downtown Mix)
05. Bumblebee Unlimited – Lady Bug
06. Inner Life – I’m Caught Up
07. Shiek – Finders Keepers

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung