Friday, May 04 2007 | 18:44

Growing up in the South-West of Philadelphia, DJ and producer King Britt was raised in a household filled with music. He began buying records at the age of seven, and gradually amassed a collection of over 10,000 singles. Britt saw the beginnings of the local rap scene evolve with Schooly D., Three Times Dope, Steady B., DJ Cash Money, and DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince. His tastes also expanded to include Depeche Mode, Roxy Music, Kraftwerk, Front 242, and The Smiths. While attending Temple University, he began producing his own tracks and also met Ishmael Butler (aka Butterfly), who introduced Britt to his jazz-rap group Digable Planets. Acquiring the nickname Silkworm, he toured with the group for more than two years. Through a mutual friend, he also met Josh Wink, and the duo soon began tooling around in their respective bedroom/MIDI recording studios. The result was a worldwide dance hit, 1993’s “Tribal Confusion” by E-Culture. Britt and Wink formed their own label, Ovum Recordings, and worked on production as well as remixing, for artists including Tori Amos, Donna Lewis, Solsonics, and Mary Wilson.

King Britt first hatched the idea for a solo album while touring with Digable Planets. A soundtrack fan without the money to make a feature film, he decided to record the music for a fake movie, enlisting hometown talent – dubbed the Sylk 130 collective – including legendary bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma, drummer Darryl Burgee, keyboardist James Poiser, vocalist Alison Crockette, poet Ursula Rucker, rapper Tony “Capital A” Green, and guitarist Monnette Sudler. Together they released “When The Funk Hits The Fan” on Ovum/Sony in 1998, followed by “The Remixes” one year later. The new millennium, however, featured another musical jaunt for King Britt’s Sylk 130. “Re-Members Only”, issued in 2001, showcased classic funk/soul grooves as well as collaborations with ABC’s Martin Frye, De La Soul, and Alison Moyet of Yaz. King Britt’s first solo production album, “Adventures In Lo-Fi”, followed in 2003 on BBE. He remained busy as ever beyond these releases, developing artists on his label and handling dozens of remix jobs.

Nova Dream Sequence is his latest project, a way to escape. A way to transcend all that is real through aural stimulation, emotions and tones. And after last year’s “Interpretations – A King Britt Project” album on Compost, he bestows his fans with the brand new three track EP “Dream 3 Remixes” (COMP249-1) including two remixes by Auralox and DJ Yellow.

01. Scuba – Spring (Fivesixrecordings)
02. The Nova Dream Sequence – Dream 16 feat. Ryat (Compost)
03. Scuba – Love 4 You feat. Lisa Shaw (Nova Dream Sequence Rmx) (Wave)
04. Gleaner – Black Shoes (CDR)
05. Shiho and Lambdool – Grind (CDR)
06. Son Lux – Raise (CDR)
07. Building Castles Out Of Matchsticks – Closer (Worthy Records)
08. Justin Timberlake – Release (BMG)
09. Carl Craig – Falling Up (Rob Paigne edit) (CDR)
10. The Nova Dream Sequence – Spirit Lost (CDR)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung