Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jan 15 2007 | 14:41

Compost Records celebrates it’s 250th release! More than 1.700 songs released, in the business for 13 years and still making mad noise! About the 100th jubilee Gilles Peterson said: “With great pleasure I pronounce Compost the most consistent and forward thinkink records label of continental Europe.”

Even 150 catalogue numbers later there is no reason, for doubting this quote. Just take one look at the impressive list of newcomers on Compost in 2006: Nova Dream Sequence, Alif Tree, Marsmobil, Jean-Paul Bondy, Soil & Pimp Session, Muallem, Shahrokh SoundofK. Names you are going to here from. But during the last months there have been reunions with old friends too. Both Karma as well as Koop enchanted us with their new albums.

The label compilation “Compost 250 – Freshly Composted Vol. 2” provides on one hand a extensive survey of the most important releases on Compost from the past year but on the other also an exclusiv forecast to new Ben Mono album which is going to released in early spring. Speaking of exclusiveness: besides Ben’s sneak preview “Jesus Was A B-Boy” there are six more tracks on this CD which were previously only available on 12″ vinyl but now finally make their way into your cd players and car systems. Including breathtaking remixes by grandmasters of the game like Carl Craig, Moodymann, Todd Terje or Robag Wruhme. And just like you are used to, this Compost compilation leaves behind stylistic boundaries and offers a diversified mixture of disco, house, techno, soul, jazz, a little bit of pop and cosmic. It is the blueprint of Compost’s musical philosophy for the 21st century.


01. Beanfield – Tides C’s Movement #1 (Carl Craig Remix)
02. Muallem – Shanti Dance feat. The Droids
03. Felix Laband – Whistling In Tongues (Todd Terje Remix)
04. Marsmobil – Mangia Amore
05. Alif Tree – Forgotten Places (Moodymann Remix)
06. Shahrokh SoundofK – Owlflight
07. Jean-Paul Bondy – Something Is Not Right feat. The Blood Of Abraham (Robag Wruhme’s Fukkeldibobb Remake)
08. Nova Dream Sequence – Dream 14
09. Karma – Are We? feat. Michelle Amador (Tony Nwachukwu Remix)
10. Ben Mono – Jesus Was A B-Boy
11. Harvey Lindo – Rugged Individuals feat. Count Bass D
12. Soil & Pimp Sessions – Waltz For Goddess
13. Koop – I See A Different You feat. Yukimi Nagano

The compilation VariousCompost 250 – Freshly Composted Vol. 2” (Compost) is going to be released February 16, 2007.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung