Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Nov 20 2006 | 15:28

Plant Music, the label that brought you “The Sound of Young New York” series, present the new and self-titled compilation “Plant Music”. Featuring fifteen tracks from the indie and electronic music scene, the compilation draws from New York’s Plant Music 12″ releases as well as some unreleased songs, and selections from up and coming artists. Included are tracks and remixes by WhoMadeWho (Gomma), Revlon 9 (Because Music), Munk (Gomma), Alex Gopher (Solid, previously unreleased), The Glass (previously unreleased), Rinôçerôse (V2), Shy Child (PIAS/Wall of Sound), Photocall (Computer Life, previously unreleased remix) and many more. Most of these tracks have only been released on 12″es and are now available for the first time.

The album is compiled by Dominique Keegan, founder of Plant Music and Plant Bar, and many of these tunes have been highlights in both his and labelmate Stretch Armstrong’s DJ sets. Whereas the “The Sound of Young New York” compilations were mix-CDs, “Plant Music” is unmixed, aimed at the MP3-listener and CD and digital DJ. The album artwork has been designed by Miami artist Caroline Geys.

The compilation Various “Plant Music” (Plant Music) has been released November 17, 2006.

Press Reactions

“New York’s other dance rock label quietly curates yet another fine compilation (Plant) It’s fitting that Plant’s office was once situated beneath the DFA’s. While the two labels have long been friends and share a similar music background (dance party DJs turned disco-punk pioneers), the DFA has cashed hefty remix checks like a hipsterati Timbaland while Plant means nothing but a pot and some soil to many. Which is kind of tragic considering how much Keegan has contributed to New York’s nightlife over the past decade, from residences at Centro-Fly and his own popular club Plant Bar to the choice selections he’s slipped into The Sound of Young New York mix series. Plant Music is a much-needed reminder of the label’s consistency, a satisfying unmixed compilation of modern-day Plant classics (Neurotic Drum Band’s “We’re Gonna Rock New York” is like a history lesson of the Lower East Side’s post-everything scene) and previously unreleased cuts (Rinôçerôse’s filthy rock jam “Stop It” and The Glass’ darkwave gem “I’m Off,” both of which feature Keegan on vocals). Pharrell Williams may not ask James Murphy for Keegan’s number anytime soon, but he sure as hell should.” URB Magazine

“Dominique Keegan’s recently released Plant Music compilation, an homage to his much-missed New York fixture, Plant Bar, reads as a latter-day love letter to the DFA dance-punkers and their notorious nightly Bacchanaliae. High-profile remixes by Gomma’s Munk and Who Made Who are on here, but the standout track is “Someone Like You,” by Swedish electro-rockers Revl9n. It offers the sonic equivalent of desire: angular guitars seduce a confrontational drum machine while icy femme-fatale vocals address liberation and desperation in under four minutes. Other highlights are “Digital Lover” by 33 Hz (think Joakim meets Chromeo), “Stop It” by French psychology professors Rinôçerôse, and the anthemic panty dropper “We’re Gonna Rock New York” from Neurotic Drum Band, all of which perfectly encapsulate the attractive (but not vapid) aspects of the downtown party scene.” Earplug

“New York’s indie dance imprint Plant Music is getting ready to drop their next label compilation sometime in November. Some of the talent includes Shy Child, The Voices, The Glass, Alister Doomington, Alex Gopher, Mainline and Neurotic Drum band (aka John Selway & Ulysses). Expect a pastiche of ‘80s post punk and and wonderful sleezy guitars licks.” BPM Magazine

“Plant Music, who you might know from their “This Is The Sound Of Young NY” series, has a new compilation coming out … that I must say is pretty damn good. Well pretty damn good for whatever my opinion is worth I guess. Many of these tracks are exclusive or (until now) have only been available on 12 inch. Plant Music features unmixed favorites from Shy Child, 33Hz, Revlon 9 and many more.
The opening track on the album, WhoMadeWho’s remix of Mainline’s “Black Honey”, is one of the many standouts from the Plant Music compilation. “Black Honey” has been kicking around for a while now, but it sets the tone for the entire disc. It is the perfect late night groove with a dark, sexy bass line and some vox that feel a bit hedonistic — perfect for when you have a few friends over and want something playing in the background. Hell, put this entire disc on and your friends will think you’re cooler than you actually are … I promise. Nobody will know the truth but you and me.”

Plenty more on it’s way, there will be reviews running in The Fader, XLR8R and BPM and then lots of cool UK stuff too …

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung