Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Sep 21 2006 | 20:02

Off of a ten year hiatus, CL Smooth returns to his roots with his first solo album, American Me, on October 31 released on Shaman Work Recordings. Known for his prolific lyrics over smooth jazz riffs like hits “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)”, “Straighten It Out”, and “I’ll Take You There”, CL Smooth is one the most highly respected lyricists in hip hop. Earlier this year CL released the freestyle “Multi Bars of Fury”, which had industry insiders talking – especially radio shock jock host Star, formerly of “The Star and Buckwild Show”, who gave the freestyle heavy rotation.

“American Me” is a stand out from the old Pete Rock and CL Smooth days, with a blend of blazing lyrics over the top-notch production of today. The album features producers Arsonist of the Heatmakerz, Kaygee and Tramp of Divine Mill as well as new comer Mike Loe who produced the street single “Smoke In the Air”. The title track, “American Me”, produced by Arsonist, will hit radio in early July along with the video.

“”American Me” is about misconceptions. It ‘s about the things people say, the things people perceive, right or wrong it’s about the speculations that we force on each other”, states the Mt. Vernon native. CL goes on to say “I am spelling it out, politically and personally, I’m bringing the real deal, in spite of everyone and everything else. My lyricism isn’t about brute force; instead it showcases what I’ve come up against and why I’m still here”.

CL views American Me as an extension of the Mecca Don, another chance to add to his already full body of work. As someone who is admittedly his own worst critic, being able to appreciate and perfect his own labor has brought a new dimension to his creative process. Major or independent, his grind has stayed true, beyond the music and in the music; this LP is just the beginning.


01. American Me Intro
02. American Me
03. I Can’t Help It
04. Call on Me
05. Black Heart Radio Interlude
06. CL Smooth Unplugged
07. Warm Outside
08. Terrorism Interlude
09. Gorilla Pimpin
10. The Impossible
11. It’s A Love Thing
12. Smoke in the Air
13. Travel Sometime Interlude
14. The Stroll
15. American Me Outro
16. All We Ever Know
17. Heaven Is Watching You

“American Me” will be out on Shaman Work Recordings CD / 2LP on October 30th!

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung