Monday, Jul 17 2006 | 12:14

Lloyd ‘King Jammy’ James (formerly Prince Jammy) is one of Jamaica’s legendary music men, as a producer, selector and creator of many classic hits. He pioneered digital dub in the ’70s with King Tubby, Linton Kwesi Johnson, and Augustus Pablo. With (literally) hundreds of releases to his credit, King Jammy is to an echo chamber what Evil Knievel is to a motorbike, as evidenced by his ’87 “Rockers Award” for best producer. The former King Tubby apprentice has plied his trade on labels such as Blood & Fire, Trojan, and Greensleeves. King Jammy’s mid-1980s productions led to the integration of synthesizer driven (‘digital’) sounds in dancehall reggae. The ‘computer’ driven sound of Jammy’s “Sleng Teng” riddim for example, would become the archetype for all dancehall riddims to follow.

King Jammy’s brand new release on VP, “King At The Controls”, showcases 20 essential Jammy’s hits. Demonstrating a range of styles and artists produced during one of the most prolific periods in his career and dancehall in general. The track list is a who is who of reggae on everything from love songs to hardcore party tracks. The mixture of instrumentation and song themes display the popular trends of the time and all contain the vital element of the King Jammy’s sound.

The bonus DVD contains a 60 minute retrospective biography with King Jammy interview from 2006. Extensive archival footage, interviews with artists, production crew and family round out this remarkable package.

Tracklisting (CD):

01. Mr. Landlord – Half Pint
02. If I Were A Carpenter – John Holt
03. Agony – Pinchers
04. Punany – Admiral Bailey
05. Peenie Peenie – Shabba Ranks
06. Favorite Menu – Super Cat (previously unreleased)
07. Father Jungle Rock – Nicodemus
08. Water Pumping – Johnny Osbourne
09. Boom Shack-A-Lack – Junior Reid
10. Deh Wid You – Super Black
11. Children Of The Ghetto – Cocoa Tea
12. The Exit – Dennis Brown
13. Run Down World – Nitty Gritty
14. Under Mi Sleng Teng – Wayne Smith
15. She’s My Baby – Leroy Gibbons
16. Rock Them One By One – Eccleton Jarrett
17. Let Off Supum – Leroy Smart
18. One Scotch – Admiral Bailey & Chaka Demus
19. Serious Time – Admiral Tibet
20. I Know The Score – Frankie Paul

plus Bonus DVD including a 60 minute retrospective biography with King Jammy interview from 2006 and many more

The album King JammyKing At The Controls – Ultimate Hits” (VP Records) has been released July 14, 2006.

Photos by Tom Oldham (

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung