Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Mar 22 2005 | 10:43

Bringing aboard likeminded collaborators of the past, “Itstrumental” plays out like a party of hilarity and hotness born from Prince Paul’s Long Island studio.
Black Italiano The Popmaster is praised over a harmonious back-drop on “My Friend The Popmaster”, Steinski provides lessons in picking up girls on “Flattery”, while MC Paul Barman pleads for the redemption of a failed relationship on the haunting “The Night My Girlfriend Left Me”. From the rugged, dancehall bop of “The Boston Top” (an ode to donuts) to the inventive “And The Winner Is?”, a hypnotic piece that finds the Prince playing all instruments (drums, electric guitar, keys and more) and re-sampling them into one strong composition, this album is pure joy.
With the MVA (Mental Victims Unit) of the New York City Police Department hot on his trails throughout the release, Paul drops one crazy beat after another, only to further solidify his position in hip hop as one of the sickest, most vital producers still thriving. This is Paul’s first true go-around at creating an instrumental album, and it never fails to keep all corners of interest in the listener’s mind awake and aware that they’re witnessing something very special.


1. MVU (Act 1)
2. It’s A Stick Up
3. Flattery (feat. Steinski)
4. My Friend The Popmaster
5. Inside Your Mind (feat. Mr. Dead & MC Paul Barman)
6. El Ka Bong
7. MVU (Act 2)
8. Yes, I Do Love Them Ho’s!
9. What Are You Afraid Of?
10. I Want You (I’m An 80’s Man) (feat. Bimos)
11. Profit
12. The Boston Top (feat. Mr. Dead & Newkirk)
13. MVU (Act 3)
14. And The Winner Is?
15. Gangsta’s My Style
16. The Night My Girlfriend Left Me (feat. MC Paul Barman)
17. Live @ 5
18. MVU (Final Act)
19. Think or Die

“Itstrumentals” will be released via Female Fun Records on 2LP and CD on April 18th

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung