Monday, Aug 18 2003 | 12:21

Nobody’s new album “Pacific Drift: Western Water Music Vol. 1” unfolds a new West Coast psychedelic sound. It salutes the Byrds, Beach Boys, and Love while shaking hands with Manitoba, DJ Shadow, and Prefuse 73. Featured collaborators on this album include include members of the Postal Service, Beachwood Sparks, Dntel, Languis, Athalia, and the Mars Volta.

Nobody is the 25 year old somebody named Elvin Estela. He is an LA vinyl junkie hypnotized by analog waves and creates albums mirroring phases of his stereo obsessions. His debut album, “Soulmates” was a hip-hop/cosmic jazz statement springing from early studio days and back alley freestyle sessions. Now Estela shows listeners a different shade of his soul. The concrete streets of “Soulmates” have melted into the flowing dreams of “Pacific Drift”.

01. Love – Forever Changes (Elektra)
02. The Byrds – Notorious Byrd Brothers (Columbia)
03. Can – Future Days (UA)
04. Freestyle Fellowship – Inner City Griots (Island)
05. Cymande – Cymande (Janus)
06. A Tribe Called Quest – Low End Theory (Jive)
07. The Millenium – Begin (Columbia)
08. Pharoah Sanders – Tauhid (Impuls)
09. Syd Barrett – Madcap Laughs (Harvest)
10. Stereolab – Dots and Loops (Elektra)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung