Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Jun 25 2003 | 19:10

Brooklyn based imprint 7 Heads has announced the arrival of two full length releases this summer. The label compilation “7 Heads R Better Than 1” will be released on mothership 7 Heads while the debut full length “Open Rhythm System” by experimental jazz outfit The Beat Kids will be released on the lately founded Uncle Junior subsidiary.

Various “7 Heads R Better Than 1”

This is their first in a series of compilations entitled “7 Heads R Better Than One”. The first is subtitled “No Edge Ups In South Africa” and consists of classic, hard to find gems, current 7H bangers, as well as future tracks from 7H artists and extended family.

The odd title comes from a tale of label head Wes Jackson: “The comp. is not about a haircut… the message we (7H) bring is financial, spiritual, and artistic empowerment.”, “In the past 5 years there has been a lot of complaining about hip-hop in the underground scene… No Edge Ups In South Africa crystallizes our mission in a tongue & cheek style that has distinguished our label…That is the mission, this record is the method.”


1. Asheru “BMIG”
2. J-Live “Braggin Writes” (Domecracker Remix)
3. Audessey the Sound Sci of Mass Influence ““The Gusto”
4. Wordsworth “Backstage”
5. El Da Sensei “Full Blown”
6. Asheru “Mood Swing” (ft.Talib Kweli & Raheem Devaughn)
7. RLD & Richy Pitch “Reflections on a Heart Attack”
8. Djinji Brown “Mr Dynamite”
9. Oddissee & Kenn Starr “This Is Hip Hop”
10. BJ & Piakhan “Queen City (Remix)” (ft.Akil)
11. J-Live “Say Cheese”
12. Audessey the Sound Sci of Mass Influence “Night Shift” 13. J-Live, Wordsworth, Eric Krasno and Neal Evans of Soulive and Adam Deitch of Lettuce “Bosoms”
14. Asheru “Trackrunners” (ft. J-Live & Grap Luva)
15. “For My Man JMJ”

release date 11.08.2003

The Beat Kids “Open Rhythm System”

The Beat Kids are a live fusion of jazz, hip-hop, soul, spoken word, and Blacktronica whose music really knows no boundaries. Led by avant garde jazz drummer, Guillermo E. Brown who emerged as the prodigy of and drummer for the David S. Ware Quartet


1. Bang
2. “Danger Zone”
3. “Song For Legolas”
4. Fraction
5. “Chanel 9 Reprise”
6. Sick Day
7. Earth Electrode Test Point
8. “Gimme Back My Activator”
9. Hothot
10. Juggle
11. Want
12. Donut Shop
13. Space Cats
14. Brazilian Phrasebook
15. Flat Beats/Collider
16. Life Is a Juggle (ft. Sadat X)

release date 28.7.2003

Also watch out for the Beat Kids 12″ “Life Is A Juggle” featuring Brand Nubian’s Sadat X to be in stores in late June!


A1. Life Is A Juggle (ft. Sadat X) – Dirty
A2. Life Is A Juggle (ft. Sadat X) – Clean
B1. Dangerzone
B2. Want (ft. Latasha Natasha Diggs)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung