Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, May 26 2003 | 16:12

You might know Dudley Perkins through one of his many roles as an essential player in the West Coast 805 Hip Hop crew that brought you the likes of Lootpack, Quasimoto (aka Madlib), Wildchild, Oh No & Medaphoar. Although a rapper since 1987, Dudley first came on the scene in 1995 under the MC alias Declaime, featured on the opening track of Tha Alkaholiks second album: Coast To Coast (Loud).
A few years later, hip hop fans saw different talents at work as his illustration of the Lootpack coincidentally became the album cover for their debut release: Soundpieces (Stones Throw).

It was around this time in 1999 that he and Madlib were messing around in the studio and came up with a novelty track, Flowers about Dudley’s love affair with sticky green trees. Eventually, Peanut Butter Wolf heard the track and insisted on releasing it on a limited edition 7 to surprisingly great results. “Flowers” was embraced both by Hip-Hop fans as well as Nu Soul enthusiasts like British DJ Gilles Peterson, who featured the track on his Worldwide Mix CD (Talkin Loud). Lemon Jelly mentioned in Muzik Magazine (April 2003) that FLOWERS was one of their favorites of all time, describing Dudley as sounding like a very early Erykah Badu on acid. Vinia Mojica, who’s sung with everyone from ATCQ to Mos Def, has also recently expressed interest in collaborating with Dudley as well.

Although the success of this song may have been a quirky fluke, Dudley’s debut album is proof that his attempt at entering the realm of the singing world was anything but a mistake. A Lil’ Light is the direct result of demand for a follow-up to “Flowers”.

With a rough, homegrown demo quality similar to Cody Chestnutt’s debut, DUDLEY presents us with a new, unique type of soul on A Lil Light. Mr. Perkins takes us for a ride through his own very unqiue, intimate, wild and bumpy road. No wonder people compare Dudley to a cross between ODB and Snoop (who he also bears a canny resemblance to). A painfully honest MC attitude mixed with the presentation of a cracked soul singer.


1. You Really Know Me?
2. Momma
3. A Lil’ Light
4. Money
5. Washedbrainsyndrome
6. Yo’ Soul
7. Muzak
8. Falling
9. Solitude
10. Worship (feat. YNQ)
11. Flowers
12. Lil’ Black Boy
13. Forevaendless
14. Lord’s Prayer
15. Just Think
16. Gotta Go (feat. YNQ)

Release Date for the Album is July 14th. The lead single “Money” b/w “Yo’ Soul” will be out in June along with a video which recently wrapped filming in Los Angeles.

Catch Dudley Perkins on tour with Grand Agent & Lil Dap (Group Home) in june performing several songs from “A Lil Light” alongside unheardof Declaime material and your favorite selections from the past! He keeps it moving like Dat-Dat-Dat-Dat!

1 – Wiesbaden, Schlachthof
5 – Kassel, Spot
6 – Altenmarkt, Beatsuite @ Bergwerk Altenmarkt
7 – Leipzig, Conne Island
8 – Erfurt, Unikum
9 – Muenchen, Backstage
11 – Ulm, Trenchtown
12 – Stuttgart, Roehre
13 – Wil (CH), Remise
14 – Biel (CH), Biella Factory
17 – Berlin, Knaack
18 – Dresden, Scheune
19 – Wroclaw (PL)
20 – Warszaw (PL)
21 – Stettin (PL)
24 – Dortmund, FZW
25 – Weinheim, Cafe Central
26 – Madrid (S), Caracol
27 – Barcelona (S), Salamandra
28 – Bonn, Rheinkultur

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung