Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Apr 23 2003 | 15:44

Luv N’ Haight and George Semper Present Inner City Sounds: Gritty Soul & Underground Funk from the Vaults of Inner City Records Ubiquity (LHCD/LP040) Release Date: May 20, 2003

This compilation includes tracks by bands called Funkafreek, Funkhouse, United Soul Association and The Funkateers. If that doesn’t tell you enough then you should know that featured here are 4 super rare and 9 unreleased tracks from the vaults of West Coast producer George Semper. Recorded between 1969 and 1977 in studios, garages, and even record stores it’s a mix of soul and raw funk that’s dancefloor friendly and is packed with breaks and many sample worthy tunes.

Bands featured include young incarnations of artists like Rodney Franklin, Charles Owens, Al Mckay (Earth Wind and Fire) and James Gadson (of the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band. and vocalist on “Express Yourself”).

The music ranges from the gritty garage funk of In One Peace and Funkafreak to the disco-boogie sound of Mary Love and the Perfect Circle (probably the compilations most well-known act). Cover versions include The Isleys “It’s Your Thing” and a tasty hammond-organ driven version of Sly Stones “Thank You (Falletinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung